How do you account the days of time spent on the lake with nephews? How do you explain the particularly cool factor that is present in such an event?

First off, let it be said that I schooled the boys quite well in the art of bass fishing – at least on Lake Thirteen. We all caught several in those two days, but I believe if a true count were taken, I landed the most AND the largest.

Oh, and when I say boys, I say guys who are in the neighborhood of thirty years old, both married, and working men. Paul his wife Jill have a daughter, and as yet, Joel and his wife Angie are without issue. I am 61, my wife Wilma is spectacular, and our kids have grown. The three of us see each other a couple of times a year, so we are not strangers – and what a better way to get to know each other than fishing together.

Mostly I used Rapalas … black top, gold bottom, floating type, no. 11. I would cast out, let it float a bit, and often enough, a bass would hit that puppy with the usual aggressive splash and drive, and the fight would be on.

Me with my 19 Inch Smallmouth Bass

Me with my 19 Inch Smallmouth Bass

One evening I used a hula popper. Same thing – cast it out there, let it float a bit, and then give it a tug so that a nice big BLOOP sounded out of its lip. BANGO, when a hit came, it was thrilling.

My other choice that produced was a deep running FAT RAP, painted to look like a little sunfish. I only caught one on it in our efforts, but it was the largest fish of the entire weekend – a 19 inch smallmouth bass.

The boys? Paul and Joel are both well-trained in their fishing skills, and well equipped. They caught their share; I would be hard pressed to say who caught the more fish of the two. They both used green spinner baits, hauling in largemouth and smallmouth bass as I did.

But like I said, I schooled them both. Outfished them, plain and simple.

But that’s just the short-term benefit. What I find so very cool is that the three of us built a new dimension to how we know each other. You might call it respect. You might call it familial ties, but in any case, it was a truly fine two days’ worth of time spent with these two nephews.

Joel holds one for us to see

Joel holds one for us to see

Paul shows a good one

Paul shows a good one

The long-term benefit? I will remember the fun of these two days and these two guys for a long time. I still remember fondly the fishing trips with Uncle Gustie to the St. Louis River, where we caught walleye and catfish – an event that took place in the late evening, well past midnight. I remember going on a camping trip with Uncle Dan and his son Mike. I would hazard a guess that Paul and Joel, too, will recall that weekend on Lake Thirteen with Uncle Charlie. Perhaps someday down the road they will spend some time on the water with their nephews and will build the same memories.

And that’s what it’s all about.  Thanks for the good times, guys.

