My article for last week centered on how we need to get away from all our ‘reactions’, and how we need to get into thoughtful and serious conversations that are responses.

I was challenged by a dear friend (rightfully so) that I hadn’t touched on racism.

I watched a good friend receive numerous comments on an article he wrote about one of the hot topics of the day.

In both cases, there was something in common that needs to be brought out – to be identified as the elephant in the room that few are talking about.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the anger of the American public.  This anger is the common thread running through so many issues today – in a way this is last week’s topic rehashed to some degree, but mostly I wanted to let my friend in New Zealand know that her words meant something – and that my friend who was challenged in his article found himself facing some very well delivered and thought out conversations.  I will not simply restate or reword what I said last week.  If you want that, go back and read what I had to say, and if you want to read the responses from my friend in New Zealand, you’ll have to read our thread on my Facebook page.  If you want to read my friend’s article and ensuing thread of discussion, all I can say is his article and that thread gave me even more to think about.

That anger has been pervasive long enough.  The products of such emotion is the name calling we’re seeing – the distrust of anyone from a neighbor who puts up the ‘wrong’ political sign in his yard to the politicians at all levels – the tendency to destroy our celebrities who fall from grace whether there is evidence or not against them – to berate rather than debate an opponent . . .

The list goes on.  I have no intention nor the desire to make this an exhaustive, comprehensive list.

BUT THE ANGER NEEDS TO STOP BECAUSE IT IS DESTRUCTIVE.

How do we do that?  How do we get off the tracks of the highballing anger?

When you are angry at your spouse, a friend, a co-worker, what do you do?  Avoidance?  Not productive.  Physical confrontation?  Humiliating and more than likely illegal.  It gets so bad that we look like a junior high school kid stomping his foot to get his way.

Here’s what some folks do – they count to ten to give themselves time to calm down – take an extra deep breath – in short, to defuse anger, it becomes necessary to pull in the claws and do some self-control.  The old instinct of ‘fight or flight’ has got to be reined in.

And oh yes, by all means, that anger must be addressed.  I am NOT AT ALL SAYING that we should simply ignore those problems.  We just need to do it in a constructive way.

So while participating minimally in my friend’s article and thread, this idea popped up.

 

WE NEED A MORATORIUM ON THE ANGER.

 

Let’s find a time where we can actually ‘count to ten’ as a country – take a deep collective breath and get beyond that ‘fight or flight’ nature.

Let us select a date somewhere early in the next year – some nondescript day that nothing else is attached to – and let’s see if we can make it a day of response instead of reaction; a day where we acknowledge the anger, but put it on the back burner and respond thoughtfully to one another.

I can do what I can do by putting this on my blog and Facebook page.  I have over 600 friends on Facebook and just about 100 followers on my blog.  You can bet half of those people haven’t checked their pages since they joined.  Another half check it every other month.  Another half might look such items like this and bypass it for any reason at all, and that’s their perfect right.  Keep dividing by half, and maybe a dozen folks will see this.  That’s a start, but in a country of 350 million, that’s all it is.

Wouldn’t it be cool if a corporate sponsor would take this up?  Imagine all those coke cans with “ANGER MORATORIUM 2015” written on the side.  Imagine the TV sitcom stars doing a public service announcement – or even a TV show – just like they do for STAND UP TO CANCER.

You and I.  That’s where it starts.  Let’s find that day and DO IT.

 

 

