(NaBloPoMo for Nov. 14, 2013)

And yes, there is a point to this list … so I hope you make it to the end….

My mother was a nurse – and she particularly liked working the Maternity ward, but did not like emergency room work at all… which is rather funny, because now my daughter is a nurse who not only has excelled in her nursing career at ER work, but is now a flight nurse for medical helicopters.

My dad was a railroad maintenance worker.  He ran all kinds of machines that kept the tracks aligned, that kept the gravel neatly around the rail bed – and his career started as the steam locomotive era was coming to an end.  And also while in the line of duty on the railroad, he and his crew were instrumental in capturing a fleeing murderer.

My grandmother, before she got married, taught school in a one room schoolhouse.  Over the years, she also worked as a school cook and as a cook for a summer camp.

 

My grandfather sang on national radio as a member of a choir.

My uncle was on Price is Right once – winning both showcases.  Many of us in our family wish to follow in his footsteps by at least attending the show someday.

My uncle directed the Harbormasters Barbershop Choir in Duluth, Minnesota.

My father-in-law spoke nothing but Icelandic until he attended public school.  I never heard him speak it otherwise.

My son-in-law is a scuba diver and a helicopter pilot in the army.

I have a relative in Sweden who is a professional opera singer.

My high school band director once played in a band that had a guest director named John Philip Sousa.

My great-aunt and uncle once ran an Italian Restaurant in Duluth, Minnesota.

My great-uncle was a missionary in Madagascar.

My dad’s family – 9 boys and a girl – had 5 sons in the military during WWII… one killed in the Battle of  the Bulge… a sixth son died during the Viet Nam War.  His sister is an amazing athlete.

My brother-in-law sat with Kirby Puckett on a 3 hour plane ride.

My cousin, an artist in Florida, once sold a painting for a million dollars.

My brother-in-law is a backyard mechanic of unlimited skill.

My cousin married into the family of a famous Mexican composer.

My high school English teacher has published 4 novels, and is about to do his fifth.

A high school classmate is a professor at the University of Guam.

A former student is a professor at a college in upstate New York.

A couple of former students work in the area of nuclear mechanics in the navy.

 ****

With a list like this, doesn’t it seem to be a waste of time to complain about the shortcomings of the people we know?

 

 

 

 

