Our son, just one week into his new job, swung by this weekend for a visit with his sweetie girlfriend at his side.  I found myself anticipating his arrival so much more than I had anticipated anything in a long time.  Heck, it had only been Christmas since we’ve last seen him, but for some reason, he was coming home – he was coming here – he was going to be with us for a few days.  He is now the technical director for the theatre department in the college he graduated from in December of 2010 – he has spent the time in between at 4 different locations, earning his stripes in the theatre world.  I don’t know if he’ll stay at this job any longer – or what he’ll do, but for the first time since 2010, we have one of our kids close to us again.  His girlfriend and he seem to make quite a good team – so congrats all around.

Bowling started up again this week.  I racked my ball, put on my shoes, greeting my team mates Frank, Lois and Mike, and promptly bowled a 184, 164 and 172 – my, my, I was glad to do that!  I won’t be bowling for a few times (due to some planned travel) so I’ll get to enjoy such a good first week for an extra long time.

I met with my new friend Donna (she and I had performed in DIARY OF ANNE FRANK last fall).  She’s a college trained writer who has been published in several literary magazines – we share the same desire to talk writing with some new faces – and our goal is to get some new faces to talk writing with —  we’ll see what happens.

SMART PHONES!  We finally made the leap into the techno-world of such a product.  Wilma and I have the same SAMSUNG product, and our son picked up a NOKIA smart phone …. It has taken us some time to figure out how to use the buggers, but we’ll get there.  Great Big Kudos to Jessica at the Verizon store who worked with us when Wilma and I scouted out phones on Thursday and then made our purchase on Saturday — she knows her stuff.

SONY DSC

And then there’s Tuesday.  Over to church I went with the 11 pictures, 16 by 20 inches, ready to hang in the narthex… church friends Mary and Barb were there.  We framed and hung the pictures, all of them pictures of church architecture in the Brainerd area … the display is open to the public through the week… I am honored and humbled by the opportunity to have my photography up there and being displayed – who knew when I retired that such a thing would be available to me.

And so we’re off.  You’ll see what I mean next week.

