SONY DSC

As winter relinquishes its hold on our existence, Wilma and I are slowly getting the lake place in shape.  We own a small 100 by 50 foot lot in a lake association – and we have to rake (check) and put out yard stuff (check) clean the cabin (check) and put in the plants (not check – yet…..).  We have some new chairs for the yard that are quite comfortable, so that’s good.  The water is connected and in good shape, and I got the hot water heater to fire up right away, which is VERY good.  The only thing holding up the real summer is that due to the ice out there on the lake, we’ll be putting out the docks a month later than usual.  Oh well, you can’t have everything.

I got out golfing for the first time with my father-in-law’s clubs.  Down I went to my favorite course (You’re welcome, Eagle’s Landing) and joined good pals Jigs and his wife Maggie – we walked the first nine, and by the time we were done, I had to stop and head home for my evening events… I hope we’ll do more rounds as the summer elapses…. We’re set for this coming Friday as well.  My score for this time:  not bad, with a 54.

My evening event was our monthly Heartland Poets group.  We’re a small group, meeting Sept – May every year.  I’ve written some good stuff and some real trash, learning some good poetry stuff along the way.   I’ve met some good people through this group, and have even had a few things published – most recently, a poem about my mom showed up in the HOMETOWN FOCUS issue of May 9, just in time for Mothers’ Day.  http://www.hometownfocus.us/node/66542.  If you click on the link, that page with the poem will come up.  Click on it to enlarge it, and to enlarge it further, click on the lower right corner.  Anyway, I sure have enjoyed my 3 years with the group and I look forward to growing as a writer and poet.

And speaking of Mothers’ Day, I have to say how much I appreciate the moms in my life.  My mother was wonderful – we shared a sense of humor and a love of music.  My two sisters are mothers – five kids between them – and are such good friends to me – I admire what they have done.  I have two sisters-in-law who enjoy their 4 kids – my mother-in-law is a paragon of motherhood… and then there’s my grandmothers, aunts, cousins …

But I can’t stop this part of this week’s blog without lauding my wife Wilma.  She has been a strong role model for our two kids – her commitment to them is phenomenal, her love for them is endless…..

I thank God for all the mothers in my life.

