When Minnesota was debating whether or not a voter needed to produce a photo ID in order to vote, I was adamantly on the side opposing such a move.

I felt it could possibly hurt the honest law-abiding voter by creating a restriction that was unfair and unnecessary.

I felt that if someone wanted to vote illegally, they’d find a way to do it anyway.

I felt that Minnesota had such a small number of voter frauds (when compared to the number of votes cast in the state) that the laws in place would suffice.

I felt that the proposed voter ID law came about under emotionally driven bad politics.  The proposed amendment itself seemed vague and unclear.  The legislators simply did not do their homework – all because it was emotionally charged at the time.

I don’t know if I was necessarily rabid about the issue, but I did have some very good exchanges of thoughts with some friends who I respect. I thank them for their thoughts and for their patience with mine.  I learned from them – and I hope they learned from me.

As I look back on all the discussion over those months, I realize that if I am to remain consistent with the stance I took on voter ID, then I must also apply the same thoughts to gun control.

Simply put, then, all I have to do is replace the words or phrases about voting in the second paragraph with a word or phrase about gun control.

I feel it could possibly hurt the honest law-abiding gun owner by creating restrictions that are unfair and unnecessary.

I feel that if someone wants to use a gun illegally, they’d find a way to do it anyway.

I feel that Minnesota has a small number of illegal gun use (when compared to the number of gun owners in Minnesota) that the laws in place would suffice.

I feel that the proposed gun legislations are – at least for now — propelled by emotion. I do not mean to lessen the horrors of the mass shootings at all, but it is important that when we legislate ANYTHING, we do it with a level head.

Having said all that, then, I must allow the process to work.   The benefits of letting the legislature run its course, via well-reasoned law making, is superior to what may be the outcomes of emotional decision-making.  That goes for voter ID.  That goes for gun control.  That goes for that whole basket of hot issues we have out there.

Oh yes, I know.  There are lobbyists out there.  There are tainted politicians.  No argument – especially mine here – are totally pure and correct.

No matter how you feel about the issue of gun control or voter ID, test yourself to see if you are consistent in your own values regarding such laws – then let your lawmakers know where you are.

